#InspiringMumma - Amber Collinson


Children: 2

Industry: Healthcare & Pharmaceuticals


How would you best describe yourself?

Wife, mother, daughter, friend - generally kind and caring. A little quirky. Capable. Reasonably good multitasker and troubleshooter.


How has becoming a parent changed your perception of work and career and what surprised you the most?

Work and having a career and sense of personal accomplishment is still important but family comes first and is my top priority. I was surprised while on maternity leave to realize that I am someone who does need to work and have something of my own outside of being a wife and mother. Part time work is a perfect balance for me.


What advice would you give your younger self about starting a family?

Go for it!!! The only doors that close are the ones you let close and a whole new exciting life chapter begins!!!


What has been your biggest challenge so far across the stages of pregnancy / leave / returning to work?  How have you overcome this?

I have had a very positive work experience around pregnancy and maternity leave as I work for a family friendly company.


Returning to work to a new male manager after baby #2 was challenging as we are very different. He treated me quite poorly hoping I would leave so he could replace me with a man his age (an assumption based on his last few hires). I ignored his antics, continued on as I normally would until he had no choice to accept I am doing a good job in my role and wasn’t going to leave!!! Wasn’t easy but glad I hung on as my role is very family friendly.

What strategies / initiatives do you use to help you manage the juggle of being a Working Mumma and family?

Work time is work time and home time is home time. I try to keep my house in order by doing one chore a day though have finally accepted I may need a once a month cleaner to help me out. I’ve also developed a blind eye and accepted that the days of spotlessly clean are temporarily over. I try to batch cook everything I can so that we can get second meals or freezer meals out of it to use on my work days. I accept the help of family and friends where I can.